Learn Photography – Review – August

Well, it’s the end of the month August. It’s a monthly routine to do a progress report on XDrive Photography Learning sessions for this month. If you are a photography enthusiast and want to take advantage of these sessions, I request you to go through individual links I have provided below on each of the topics and the corresponding comments and discussions. It extremely important you do that. Seeing the things from different minds and thought process teaches us so many things often we tend to ignore. So please keep adequate time to spare to read this post.


Session: Sharpness: We discussed the importance of sharpness and how to achieve sharp photos.

Amy contributed with a sharp eyed horse, it was indeed pretty sharp capture, but is that only sharpness makes the best outcome? I suggested something here please check.

Helen did an exceptional capture trying to show a sharpness as an objective in her “Pouring of milk” photo shoot. But what I saw and what Helen envisioned were bit different. Check my comment here.

Then there was a follow up from Helen again here and check the results.

Rekha makes the stunningly sharp focus on her favorite flowers and check them here  . Flowers and sharpness go together always.

Brenda makes an excellent contribution taking advantage of “Focus Locking” and check the important note from me about the pitfalls of this method at times.

Session: We focused on “Blurs.

It’s not just the sharpness, but also the blurs contribute to the story. Check the post above if you missed it.

Brenda makes a beautiful monochrome with the interesting and curious story; she has taken advantage of blurs in this pic. Check it here

Lois makes a perfectly taken shot where she isolates the subject from the background. Check my comments here

Amy is always great when it comes quick thinking and not missing a photo opportunity. She is walking across the hallway, and there she sees a subject. Check here Then she also tries a motion blur, but she was unlucky at that time, but hey she is a photographer she took advantage of what was offered. Check here

Then comes my favorite shot of the session from Helen.. careful planning and execution is a must for planned shots. Check the results and my comment here.

Session: “Framing” the shots. Why frame? Check the article.

Amy takes some great architectural backed framed shots and an interesting wild life frame, check my comment and the action taken by Amy

Brenda makes an interesting submission here and I liked this shot a very much, however, I had some suggestions.

Lois makes a couple of presentations with very creative frames. I suggested some important pointers to take in to account concerning the settings; please go through them here.

Helen makes submissions with lots of questions. Yes, it’s important to understand when to frame or is the framing actually required or not. Check the post and the comments to understand more.

Please browse the following pictures, left images as being as submitted by the participants, right ones are my version.

So this all happened over this month. Thanks to all contributors and visitors for your likes and comments of encouragement. I loved these sessions a lot to great satisfaction. Requesting everyone to go through the examples linked above and if you have a question on anything, comment in this post itself, so that I get notifications and I will be able to reply. Also if you want to make an contribution on any of the topics above, please do so now. Don’t feel left out later. We have to cover all subjects together that way we don’t miss out anything. Even if your picture is from a mobile phone, it’s fine because all concepts remain the same. There will not be another session for this week as I need to give time for people to contribute. I will come with more interesting topics next week. Till then keep your shutters clicking!

All Learn Photography sessions are listed here

 

 

32 Comments Add yours

  1. loisajay says:

    Raj–wow. Just a couple of changes and the cat photo is so much better. You are wonderful. Thank you so very much for the important, yet easy-to-follow explanations for enhancing any kind of photo. Most appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Lois, Glad that you liked it. Some of the things difficult to explain… only by doing the edits one can explain the concept better. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Krishna KK says:

    This blog is quite useful , Thanks a lots and keep in touch with such a beautiful blogs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Krishna for you kind words.. I am just sharing my knowledge on this topic… Its a great pleasure to know that its useful. Cheers to you! 🙂

      Like

  3. Rekha says:

    Thanks Raj for the mention 🙂 I could not recognise my photo – the flower one. I must do enhance. I usually try enhance and compare it with the original photo and then select the one that looks good. I missed blurs and frames. I will try to contribute or else there is always more of learn photography posts in the future 🙂🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Rekha for the comment. Yes I was wondering why you lost the interest and stopped contributing… No problems now.. you can do whenever you have time. Cheers!

      Like

      1. Rekha says:

        No no. No ways I lost interest 🙂 the post on blurs wasn’t there in my reader, I found it a few days later. And last week I was busy with some college work so I couldn’t blog much. 🙂 I will sit sometime this week and post them. I do have photos on frames and blurs – bokeh is fine? (For blurs)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        No issues Rekha.. we all have the real life and thats more important than anything. Post when you find time. Yes bokeh is the perfect example for blurs. It serves the important function to isolate the subject.

        Like

      3. Rekha says:

        Done 😀😀 I have an awesome photograph on bokeh. 😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        Now I am drooling!! 😀

        Like

      5. Rekha says:

        😀😀 already made three posts today. So I will post it tomorrow 🌻

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Raj says:

        ಸರಿ, ಜಾಸ್ತಿ ಆದರೆ ಅಜೀರ್ಣ ಆದೀತು! 😂😃

        Like

      7. Rekha says:

        😂😂😂 kayam churna togondre aiytu 😜

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Raj says:

        Thanks for the tip! 😂

        Like

      9. Rekha says:

        😂😂😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy says:

    I’m in awe with the results you did. The horse eye looks stunning, the arch and palm tree were well focused and looks beautiful, so glad you rescue the running hose photo;I love it!, and the last one made me smile, it finally tells the story. 🙂
    This learning process helps me shift my view of these photos–what need be emphasized, enhanced,… and how. I must admit that I’m a slow learner in photography, but am learning.
    Thank you so much, Raj for your effort and for being patient with me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Amy for your feedback .. glad you liked the edits. Generally we should avoid the crops as they degrade the picture quality where as edits are must in my opinion. BTW .. I am not using my patience with you.. 😀 You are very good learner and supportive for the whole project so far.. glad you are part of this activity. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Tanvir! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. brenda says:

    I have deep appreciation for your talent, skill, and knowledge. What is especially valuable is the clarity and validation within your writings and your willingness to share. Thank you, Raj

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Awww thank you Brenda for you so kind words.. I am not an expert but I have to understand the concepts before apply. I dont just follow things. So whatever I have been practicing I am sharing it here. Glad that makes sense to you… Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. hati03nisa says:

    How ist possible tht a human being captures such magical pictures…. awestruck!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Humans are amazing creatures ever came out of factory.. Thats what makes them dangerous too.. 😀
      Thank you for your appreciation though.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Parul Thakur says:

    Wow! Framing is so important and your pictures tell that tale so well. Thank you for the lesson and trust me, visually the difference shows up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Parul for your appreciation. Yes frames make big difference. Cheers to you!

      Like

  8. Helen C says:

    What a treat, Raj. I learned something from each of these before and after pair. I have read most of your comments for everyone before this post. Seeing these photos really helps a lot. Thank you.
    Half pressing the shutter release button — I thought this would lock both the focus and exposure. Doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Helen.. yes seeing the results makes all the difference. Its always difficult to explain certain imagination! 😀
      Yes you are right when you half click the shutter button it locks both focus and the exposure. In my case I do back button focus and when I do it it only focuses not exposure lock. I heard cameras have different options here. I have to explore more on this topic. Thanks for bringing that up.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Helen C says:

        Raj, D750 only has one back button. Like you, I found out that when I press the back button, it only locks the focus. It took me a while to realize that if I half press the shutter, it would lock the exposure. Maybe you already know this…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        It’s Helen that’s how it works even in my camera. I want to see if somehow I can configure back button to do both focus and exposure lock. That would be the ideal.

        Like

Leave a Reply

