Learn Photography – Review – July

Well, most of you already know that I have started a online workshop on basic photography skills begining this month. Many have participated and thank you for your active participation. That exposed me to lot of challenges and I have done my best to answer them as per my knowledge in this topic. At this point I feel that its a good idea to review about this months activity before we go to next sessions. So basically want to update everyone what has been achieved so far.

If you have missed my earlier posts, I want to give another opportunity to read all that happened and what you missed. So please go through this article if you are interested in learning about photography.

Topic : “Photograph should speak

Its the fundamental objective of a photograph. I always say “If you don’t have a story to tell don’t shoot”, and asked participants to contribute their own “Stories”

Rekha posted two photographs here and explained..

The above photo was taken near the entrance of one of the famous churches in Goa – St Francis Xavier Church. If you look closely, you can see a group of friends laughing over something, girls excited about clicking selfies (I saw them at St. Augustine too), a father and daughter duo walking hand-in-hand and a few lazing around. As I walked towards the building, I found a couple of egrets pecking around, a few honeymooners clicking selfies and few jobless tourists like me roaming around.

but then did I agree with that story? find out from her thread above.

Next contribution was from Amy,  she posted a closeup of horse enjoying its meal, beautiful horse face … many people like that picture, but I found something was not right. What is that? just go over to that thread and read.

Helen found pair of shoes some one left it on the wall… pretty ordinary scene, we always see things like that… why would anyone want to take a picture.. what was she thinking? … yes?? … you are wrong… check here.

Topic : Exposure

It all started with Helens idea of showing the cherry and the cathedral in her composition as she wanted to show the user to relate two beautiful things in this world. But did she succeed? Check here first and then you MUST check here. Do you agree? To become a good photographer one need to be dedicated and should be ready to experiment. Reading any number of books/blogs and doing nothing makes no change for your skills. I really applaud Helen on her pursuance here. Well that’s why she is a good photographer!

Check the contribution from Amy here. She shows that each photo needs to be taken in its own settings, there is no automatic settings for every possible situation. But there is always a opportunity for improvement, read my comment in her post.

Topic: “Breathing Space”:

Just like we need a space to be comfortable, the subjects in our pictures also need a space to be comfortable. If not, the viewer who are watching our pictures will not be comfortable, and that is not a good thing for a photograph!

Cee took one of the most colorful picture here. Everything about that picture was just fine but then something was not just right? What is it? do you think what I suggested makes sense? But what else Cee could have done? Check her post.. She is one of the great photographers I follow. But learning never stops right?

Candace, took a shot of lady bug, but she felt its not a good shot, but I had my own opinion about the result. Check it out here, what you think? Always remember in photography its about viewer, what the viewer thinks about the outcome that matters.

Again a contribution by Amy here showcases how important it is to position in your subject. The way we position our subject, should avoid the distractions which are not contributing to our story of the picture.

Then Rekha makes her contribution where discussion was about, “is this breathing space required always? if not when is it not required?” Also where exactly you will provide this space and what to think about when we compose a shot. Go to her post and find out. Btw she is a flower photographer and no wonder all her examples are on flowers!

Finally there was a submission from Helen and some spectacular contributions here.

I liked one great picture he posted, but then I also suggested some edits.. here is my version (edited, without her permission! ) But just to show how the edits change things! Check the pic below

So this is what happened in a month. Thanks for all contributors and visitors for you likes and comments of encouragement. I liked these sessions a lot to a great satisfaction. Requesting everyone to go through the examples linked above and if you have a question on anything, comment in this post itself, so that I get notifications and I will be able to reply. Also if you want to make an contribution on any of the topics above please do so now. Don’t feel left out later. We have to cover all topics together that way we don’t miss out anything. Even if your picture is from mobile phone, its fine, because all concepts remains exactly the same. There will not be another session for this week as I need to give time for people to contribute. I will come with more interesting topics next week. Till then keep your shutters clicking!

All Learn Photography sessions are listed here

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    Thank you, Raj for taking time to give a review of these lessons. I must say this lesson process and the interactions make a great impact, it is more practical than from reading a book. I think you understand how important it is for us to learn from our mistakes with guidance and critic for improvement.
    Appreciate you spending time with each one of us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Amy for you kind words and being my companion with all support in these learning sessions. Its the team work at play.. hope it goes long way… Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    No learning never stops. I knew the photo I picked was a hard one to deal with. I’m glad to have had your input. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Yes I agree, Hard situations only teaches us lot of things.. an average photographer would have been very happy to shoot couple of flowers given the situation… you took different route.. that’s what makes the difference..!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. InspiresN says:

    Hi Raj, I am so glad to have found your site , its really awesome ..and can’t wait to catch up on all the posts!! I am a beginner in photography and these posts will definitely help me !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for your likes and good thoughts..Yes.. Lets learn together!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hii..i love photography but I am a naive photographer 😁. I have posted some of them in the blog i recently published. Could you visit and give some feedback please??🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      I will be glad to do it.. just do this.. add a ping back to my post …. I will comment.. this way others will also see it.. Hope you get the idea.. Thank you for contacting me.. 🙂

      Like

    1. Raj says:

      Pic 1: Nicely taken, there is a foreground and the actual scene. Always try to see there is a blue sky in the picture, you have done that in this case. The top part of the sky could be eliminated as there is too much of sky here. Also picture is somewhat tilted.
      Pic 2: Again you have given a nice framing to the picture. But I would have positioned the camera low and to the right that way the hut would have been the center and be the “story” of your picture. Read my session about “Pictures should speak”.
      Pic 3: Actually I don’t see a any interesting story here. It’s just a “Cow”. Background is over exposed with bright sun so not contributing to the image and it’s very harsh. Try to shoot this shot at lower angle giving importance to the cow only. Check my post of “Breathing space”
      Pic 4: Unfortunately this is not a good picture, because, the bird is facing other way. There is a considerable blurring on the head of the bird. Again this shot should have taken in low angle. Probably you are not bending down while shooting images, it’s better to go down to subjects eye level while shooting living things. Try to avoid shooting in bright sun light; it’s too harsh for the photographs.
      Please understand this is a Critical Review for XDrive Photo Learning sessions. Don’t feel bad.. Follow the learning lessons keenly and participate in every future sessions, I am glad that you took part this time. Only by improvising we will learn. Good job !! Welcome to active learning. 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks for your review..it means a lot.
        Yeah I’m keen to learn the skills so I’ll surely take part in your learning sessions🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Thanks Nidhi 🙂 Cheers to you..!

        Like

  5. Helen C says:

    Thank you, Raj. Now you have my permission to edit any of my photos 😉 Seeing how other photographer would edit my photo is very educational!!!
    By the way, I am interested in the subject of minimalist. I hope it will be one of the subjects on your list 😉 It’s something I would like to have a better understanding on.
    Thanks again. Have a wonderful day (night?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Helen for the permission.. Idea is to take advantage of the key elements in the picture which one wants to highlight.. and only by editing I could make my point. Yes its time for us to hit the bed here… you have a wonderful day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

