Learn Photography – 4 – Breathing Space

One of the biggest puzzle for a new photographers is how to position the subject in their composition of a shot. When you search for composition ideas online, hundreds of feeds such as rule of thirds, symmetry, leading lines etc comes up. While reading all makes sense but actually when you go to shooting mode, you forget which rule to apply and finally end up picture putting the subject in the center. For today’s session I thought it would be good idea to explore upon this area of composition.

 

Check the about two pictures individually on full view, do you see totally different story? For me first picture shows “end of the journey”, while second one “begining of journey”. You see that? if so why is that? Just by positioning of same subject in a identical setup differently makes up a totally opposite story. That means how you place your subjects in your frame is very important in photography.

 

Check the above two pictures, one on the left shows you a motion of water and the stationery rocks. Where as the picture on the right shows just the rocks!

 

 

 

Check the comments on individual images above.

Basically when we compose our shot we must provide a space for our subjects so that in your picture they are placed comfortably. When the subject of our photo look comfortable, viewers also feel comfortable looking at them. Looking at a picture should always be a pleasing experience for the viewers. Only then they will spend more time on your image. As I said in the first lesson.”if a viewer spends more time on your picture, more interesting is your story and more satisfied he is”. But now the question is, “how do I decide where to add space?”. Well, instead of me explaining check the images below and the corresponding caption.

 

The space you are adding to your picture intentionally is called “Breathing Space“. We should make sure that we position our subject such a way that its “not suffocated”. That’s where the rule of thirds shines. Rule of thirds (if you don’t know what it is google for it) tells you where to position your subject. But use that rule only for guidance, don’t mechanically place objects at the the rule of thirds intersection and assume your job is done!

But now another question.. that means we will never put objects in the center? …No, we do. Check the following examples. No way we can put the below subjects in the sides. Also we add a “breathing space” all around! Our eyes have a tendency to focus better on the things in the center and not the extreme edges. Most of the times the symmetrical images go in the center of the frame as shown below.

 

Now the final question, is there a situation where we will fill the picture with our subject without any “Breathing Space”? Yes we do.. Check the below examples. Watch them full screen with the comments.

 

Whenever we have a subject whose story line is simple one, end to end we fill the screen with that subject. We will avoid any space or any other detraction in the picture. So that message from image is very clear one. Generally abstract type of images or closeups are the good candidates for such type of composition.

Liked this session? make sure to check out my earlier sessions here.

So, what you think now? Does it make sense? have a question? post it below. I like comments.


Exercise

  1. Post one or two pictures, keeping today’s topic of “Breathing Space” in mind. Also think about the previous chapters I published too. (I recommend fresh pictures if possible, but old pictures also fine!)
  2. Let me know type of camera(mobile, dslr, point and shoot)
  3. Try to put exif data (shutter speed, aperture, ISO) so that I can comment better unless you shot the picture on mobile phone.
  4. Add a tag ‘XDrivePhoto’
  5. Add a ping back to this post. (Basically copy the URL of this post, and paste to your post. (Anywhere)
  6. Title the post as “XDrive Photo Lesson – Breathing Space”

Your ping-backs may not appear immediately as I have to enable them later. I will check your post and I will comment on your post itself. I will post selected contribution links to this post later so that others can also see and learn from them. (Please note there is no time limit for your contributions, you can post them any time, I will respond to them as you contribute. You can also make more than one contributions to the same topic)

Although these lessons are geared towards newbies, expert photographers also welcomed hearty. I need to learn too! There are no teachers here everyone is learning.

Cheers and Happy clicking!


Contributions

http://wp.me/p3ZTqs-6wh

Learn Photography – 4 – Breathing Space

https://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2017/07/27/xdrive-photo-lesson-breathing-space/

https://whakaahuablog.wordpress.com/2017/07/30/breathing-space/

XDrive Photo Lesson 4 – Breathing Space

XDrive Photo Lesson 4 – Breathing Space (Part 2)

 

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Superb lessons about ‘space’ ,this is something I never read anywhere but somehow learnt about composition through my own observations. I always look forward to your ‘photography lessons’ post. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Pooja.. one can learn it by themselves…just by experimenting on them .. do participate .. need more people contributing.. Please do if possible..its interesting.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed your post explaining different perceptions, will definitely remember these when clicking next time 🙂 I loved the phrase ‘Breathing Space’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Yes, that the best one could explain that space.. 😀 Basically its to make the subject comfortable “in our pictures”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I talk about breath and creating space a lot in my teaching work. That is one reason it brought me a smile 🙂 Those are primary to one’s comfort in living. Somehow your post gave me the sense of similar energy and kept me reading through the different aspects of good photography.
        Lately I started taking my own pictures for some of my blog posts …with no training 🙂 so your post is useful to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Thanks great to know.. yes see space and taking a breath is very important aspects of being comfortable. Believe me same thing happens to people in the photos too. They may not feel it, but the people who watch them will feel it. That’s what makes the good picture.. Why don’t to take part in contribution.. It doesn’t matter how good or bad. Its a opportunity learn. Thank you for your support though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You are very right. Glad to interact 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy says:

    I really need to learn about breathing space. Well explained. Thank you, Raj! 🙂
    See you later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      It is a interesting concept and not too difficult to understand…once you understand it, its very easy to practice. Thank you Amy.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Raj such beautiful examples….and oh such gorgeous photography.
    Here is my try for this week.
    http://wp.me/p3ZTqs-6wh

    Like

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks you Cee for your contribution.. It means a lot of me..
      I have put my comments on your post.. Great contribution for all of our learning!

      Like

  5. Amy says:

    Is this lesson 3 or 4?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Oh it’s 4 not 3, thanks Amy for the correction! 🌷

      Like

  6. arlene says:

    I love your comments on Amy’s blog so I decided to follow you. Read a few of your posts and I am learning a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Arlene for your appreciation…I am glad that you liked them. Please do take part in the sessions.. That will be interesting. 👍 Cheers to you!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Raj says:

      Forgot to mention.. thank you for following me.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you Raj,

    I found this post very informative. I will definitely think a little more about composition before taking photos in the future!

    X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Glad my post was useful to you. Check other posts too.. I have menu “Learn Photography” that has all the posts I have done ..Also try to participate.. thats the only way to learn.. Cheers to you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

