Learn Photography – 1 – Introduction.

First of all, why this post? Well… I am a photo enthusiast shooting pictures long time back, however I started blogging about 3 months back. Yes I did post lot of travel pictures and people happen to like it. My follower count gradually increasing mostly because of my pictures and travel related posts. Then people started suggesting me to have some online photo learning sessions so that they could improve their skills. So here is my humble attempt. 😌

Now, who is this Guru (me 😁)? Do I qualify enough to teach the people about photography?Β I sincerely don’t know. I have not studied any photography lessons nor I had any Guru. On the other hand if you liked my style of picture taking, probably I could assist you in doing the same.

Ok.. now how are you going to teach about the rules to be followed in photography? Well, as far as my photography knowledge is considered there are no rules in photography! if there was were rules then everyone’s picture would have looked the very same. We always tend to like someones picture better than other. BUT there are some principles followed by seasoned photographers with good reasons behind it, so its better to know about those so called ‘rules’. We will discuss about them here. Photography is all about being creative. Rules does not apply here.

So what are the basic requirements for these sessions? Basically nothing but one.. What’s that? .. you should have appreciated atleast some pictures in your your life. Some picture stayed in your mind or heart for long time. Some picture made you think about them again and again. Pictures made you wow at some point. If not photography is not for you.

Ok, I am interested, now what, what do I need to buy? books, camera, tripod?Β Actually nothing.. 😁 If you have an existing camera or a mobile phone camera, you are all set to go. Upgrade it if you find it is necessary later on. So much of reading material already available online. There is also a risk of information overload, sometimes it gets too difficult to choose the right material. Reading is one thing and doing it practically is totally different challenge. Please remember these sessions only for people to understand photography, once you do you have to do your own learning. So don’t expect complex photography lessons.

How are we going to do this? Well even I have not planed everything but this is what I am thinking as of now(things are going to change in future). Every week(time permitting) I will post a photography topic and try to explain what it is and why its important. Once that is done I will ask everyone to make a post on your own blogs on the topic with one or two pictures. You will back link that post to me (ping backs), that way I will get a notification on your post, I will put my thoughts on your post (time permitting or if required). We will discuss there. At the end of the session, I will link some of the important discussions in my blog here so that newcomers will also be able to go through them. Once all the important things covered we will go for weekly challenges kind of thing that we will improve our skills at the same to inspire us to do more posts.

Although these session are geared more for newbies I also request seasoned photographers also to take part as facilitators (I need to learn too). Basically everyone is learner and teacher. We will learn together. More importantly it should be fun environment.

Does it make sense? Any suggestions please write below in comments section. Glad to hear from you.

This post is just a preamble. My next post will be on core photography topic.

Please check this link to view all my posts on “Learning Photography”

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Good Luck on that Guru πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you! I need that ! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rekha says:

    Nice initiative, Raj πŸ™‚ I will be learning something new from the guru every week πŸ™

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Let’s see who is the Guru πŸ˜ƒ btw Shalini wants you to check your spam, she has apparently sent solve updates and you haven’t seen it. Please do check.

      Like

      1. Rekha says:

        Neeve guru πŸ™πŸ˜‡

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Superb ! And yes, reading material can be overwhelming at times, specially for a beginner like me. I have read a lot but without practically trying them, the information just fades away with time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Very true.. Creative work cant be mastered without physical work..! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I think as long as you love taking pictures and have an eye for creative pictures you’ll have fun taking pictures. Your lessons should help many people open their mind to photography that maybe didn’t think that could do it. The experience will come with practice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you… and hope it will work that way… Cheers! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy says:

    Cool idea. I’m in, Raj! Any time soon? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Amy.. will happen soon… in a day or two.. if all goes well.. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

