WordPress: How to try/preview new themes without applying them?

on

Themes are important part of any blog or any website we showcase. I do agree that quality of the content is the most important factor of any successful blog. But themes are the the outer package which attracts any visitor who peaks in to your site first. So its very important that you chose a right theme. You should choose a theme which interfaces your content to your readers. To accomplish it, your theme must match with the type of content you are posting. But setting up theme also somewhat time consuming and for most people its a biggest challenge. So most people once their theme is set never look back at them. What I have found out is that, many people are not aware that these themes can be quickly tried out before you go live on them. Basically you will be able to try out any number of themes in a matter of less than 10 clicks to visualize how your content looks and feels! If you know about it you may skip the further reading otherwise, I advise you to stick on to this article.

1
Step 1: Navigate to “My Sites”
2
Step 2: Click on “Themes”
3
Step 3: Filter to “Fee” themes. This will lists all the free themes available to you.
4
Step 4: Choose a theme which you want to try, and click the three dot button as shown.
5
Step 5: Click the “Try & Customize” menu option.
6
Step 6: Now your new theme will load with your site content. Please note that its only preview at this point. You will be able to further customize things using the left menus. If you like the final outcome, click “Save & Activate”, if not click the “X” button (highlighted red) to close this design. Try different design once again.

Hope this is of some help. Let me know if you have a question or some other suggestion which I am not aware yet.. WordPress has lots of hidden mysteries and we just have to uncover it.

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Presentation does matters. Many bloggers have good content but the theme they keep doesn’t suit. I changed my theme 3 time in a month just to make the site look right.
    The theme you have chosen is good it goes great with the kind of content you post πŸ™‚ πŸ‘

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you AO πŸ™‚ Agree with you. Its a personal choice… and noone else can do it for you.. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup
        You’re most welcome πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kanjika says:

    Thank you this was really helpful to me. Sorry for bother ing you again raj but i would as usual like to know your opinion on my latest post ‘Opposite of life’.https://aroundtheworldinthecouch.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yoly says:

    You were reading my mind…. I was about to look into setting my page like that. Thank you Raj. I will use your post to help me do it πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Its call telepathy.. yesterday it happened with another follower… She was writing to me that I should write about something… and I was actually writing about it.. πŸ˜€ Same time! we posted! I think I have some superior power! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yoly says:

        Ha ha! I will call you the blog whisper now. ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Haley says:

    I definitely need to look further into this, thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Please do… in case soldier needs a help.. “just whistle…” πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Extremely helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Glad to hear that was helpful… Cheers to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

