Travel – Pondicherry – India

Pondicherry is the capital city of the Indian union territory of Puducherry. City holds connections to Rome, Dutch, Portuguese, British and French right from 1st century. City was part of the Pallava Kingdom in the 4th century. Cholas took control between 10th to 13th centuries, then the Pandyas and finally Vijayanagar Empire took control all of South of India in the 14th century. Bijapur Sultan’s took over from 1638.

IMG_0727

IMG_0724
French touch on the police!

IMG_0713IMG_0686

IMG_0720
Mandatory Pose!

The French East India Company established in this town as their headquarters in 1674. It changed hands between the French and British on several occasions, finally French continued to hold it till 1954 when it was incorporated into the Indian Union along with the rest of French India.

 

Basically its a small city, which looks very foreign to Indian eyes. You can very well compare it to Goa. There are lot of foreigners still continue live just like the regular Indians here.

 

 

Overall worth spending day or two, you will be able to cover all places. If you have time I strongly recommend visiting Mahabalipuram which is just about 100 kms from here, I guarantee you wont regret it.

Location

Let me know if you have traveled here or any questions on the same.

46 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s beautiful!! Have a lot places to visit now!! Images are just outstanding and filled with excitement!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for your appreciation Tanvir.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. EttaD says:

    India is on my list of places to visit, hopefully, I can get there next year. It seems like beautiful country, I love the colours and atmosphere of the place.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for your appreciation.. its is a beautiful country and very diversified culture.. You’re very welcome here.! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful photos Raj. Now I’m sure I had read of Pondicherry in the novel “Life of Pi”, correct me if I’m wrong. 🤔

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Raj says:

      You have a good memory Lorelle…. yes that’s where the story starts! Hope you have seen the movie too… I have taken a picture from the location where the movie starts… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I knew it. Yes did watch the movie. Loved the story. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Great! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yoly says:

    Beautiful post. I feel like I was there through your pictures. You have a good eye. It looks so peaceful. Your daughter is gorgeous. Keep showing me India 😊

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Yoly for you kind words and support.. I will show you more of India in coming days.. ✌️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yoly says:

        Sounds good. I’ll be waiting, not going anywhere 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Yep… dont go anywhere.. keep accumulating money for India! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yoly says:

        Ha ha!!! I love to travel …And India is on my list ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        🙏🙏🙏

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Amazing pics as always!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for you appreciation… ! 🙂

      Like

  6. Ahh! I almost went to Pondicherry. I was in Bangalore for a year! But just couldn’t do it. Your post is so inviting, I wish I did it! I have a lot to cover in South.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      True…suddenly we find there are places everywhere.. I am finding there are lot of places in north! 😀 Glad these travel blogs opening up our world. Check under my travel section, I have added many more, looked like you were away for a while from WP?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah… Was traveling… Exploring places✌️I stay away from gadgets while I travel😀😀 I will check out your posts… And probably will hit South next😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Stay away from Gadget? how can you do that ?
        Isn’t that part of your body? 😀 Yes .. do come… most welcome! 🙂

        Like

  7. The girl on a move says:

    Beautiful pictures.. I have not been to Pondicherry but I am definitely considering to visit it soon.. with regards to Mahabalipuram I would like to know what is the best mode of transportation?
    Thank you

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks… regarding Mahabalipuram.. couple of options.. If you are specifically visiting Mahabalipuram only, then you could travel my road, there are plenty of buses from Chennai. Then you could stay in beach resorts at Mahabailpuram for one or two days, If you are going to stay at Chennai, then day trip from Chennai to Mahabalipuram should be just fine too. If you are travelling by our own vehicle its advised, otherwise touring buses are better.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The girl on a move says:

        Thanks a lot Raj for the advice..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        My pleasure!

        Like

  8. afterwards79 says:

    Beautiful photos !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you very much for your appreciation! 🙂

      Like

  9. What a lovely city!! I also plan to visit Pondy sooner than later. Also great blog!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you and welcome to my blog.. Glad you liked my posts.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. aditya1358 says:

    The images were simply amazing.
    I recently went on a solo travel to pondicherry, here’s my blog.

    https://aaditya1358.wordpress.com/2017/06/28/paradise-on-the-eastern-cost/

    Do read! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Mister 😊 I will check that out!

      Like

  11. Hi Raj, I came across your blog on the community pool post. Looks great! Love the history lesson, and the length is perfect for a quick read. Nice work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Laura.. for your appreciation and for stopping by my blog. You have a great DIY themed blog there.. Glad you liked my posts.. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Asha Bharati says:

    Your Post is so Inviting…Beautiful and Amazing Shots !

    Check out my blog too if you get a chance http://thefootloosecouple.com/2017/07/mcleodganj-and-dharamsala/

    Thanks !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Asha I will look into your blog! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Aarti Gupta says:

    your post is lovely and really attractive
    check more on pondicherry at http://www.travelmogambo.com/travel/pondicherry-french-colony-in-inida.html

    Like

  14. Wander Along says:

    The pictures are beautiful

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Wow. beautiful pictures. I want to visit there in Mid June. is it best time?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      June is just the ending of summer there at Pondicherry, if you could delay a month it’s better. October onwards it’s the best time to visit there. ✌

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. I’ll consider your points.

        Liked by 1 person

  16. ansh997x says:

    Lovely photos 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I’ve visited Pondicherry on my previous visit to India. This was one of my favorite destinations in India. Pondicherry has such a unique vibe.. I loved hearing the mixture of languages. The French have a huge influence and I love that the language is still learned. One can feel the tranquility when visiting the Sri Aurobindo Ashram.. I look forward to returning 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Yes Pondicherry is indeed a unique place in India. The architecture around the city with the french influence adds lot of vibe to the place! Please do visit again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. thetravelguru says:

    Really attractive photos, nice photography. You showed everyone the real beauty of Pondicherry. Keep writing such informative post. If you have some time then check out my blog too and find out some other beautiful places in India at http://www.mailz4u.com

    Like

  19. Beautiful Pictures Raj….. the place is indeed beautiful….. havnt traveled yet.. but yes on the radar…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Sudhir for your kind appreciation 🙂 There are some more nearby attraction too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

