WordPress – How to create categories menu?

Well I have been asked frequently by people about creating a menu based on categories. You all already know that WordPress allows you to link your posts to one or more categories while you post. But many people do not know how to add this Categories as a menu to their primary menu. (Check my blog and you will see Categories menu in action). Adding the Categories menu to primary menu has lots of advantages if you are posting your blogs under different categories. I do use categories such as “Travel”, “Photography”, “Thoughts” etc. and if someone is only interested in my “Photography” posts he/she would just go to my categories menu and choose “Photography” so that all my photography related posts would show up. Looks interesting? Yes it is. But unfortunately there is no automatic way to do it. But WordPress allows you to set it up easily. Check the below instructions you will be able to add one to your blog.

But before you start, make sure you have already setup categories and linked your posts under different categories. If so continue as explained below.

1
This is how your final result should look like. See all the items under categories are my categories which I link to posts every time I post. Your post can be linked to more than one category also.
2
Step 1: Go to your “My Sites” menu (top left), themes and click Customize.
3
Step 2: Now go to “Menus” option.
4
Step 3: Based on your theme you will be presented with available menus, choose Primary.
5.jpg
Step 4: Click add items, here you are creating the top level menu.
6.jpg
Step 5: You will be presented with another box like above. Go to custom links section as highlighted, enter the values as shown, you may choose anything for link text, I have entered “Categories”. Click “Add to Menu” button.
7
Step 6: If you check, on your left most box has your newly added menu. In our case you have just created top menu “Categories”, now you have to add sub menus. To do it, now go to the right box, go down to categories and click the down arrow, to show the categories you already have. Click the + sign to add all these category items to your menu. Watch your left hand side box getting populated with new menus.
8
Step 7: Now look at your left box, and click “Reorder”. Here you have to arrange the category menus. All your categories should be one step to the right, that is you have to use the right arrow keys (highlighted) to move them one step to right. So that you should have a space (check the red arrow) This is not difficult but difficult to explain. Basically you have to arrange your sub menu(individual categories) under the main menu Categories. Red arrow should tell you what I am trying to explain.
9.jpg
Step 8: Finally this is how your final arrangement of menus should be. Now click the Save & Publish button. Check your blog if it works the way you wanted.

Couple of things to remember

  • Your menus still be there even if you change your theme.
  • All your future posts would come under each of the these categories automatically.
  • If you create a new category later, you have to do the same procedure to add that “Sub Menu” (Add only the newly added category.)
  • You don’t have to show all the categories in your Category menu if you want.

Hope I am able to convey the method to customize your menu. Its not difficult. But you have to follow the steps. If you feel that you did something wrong, just close your WordPress window without saving it. Retry.

Let me know if you are stuck. I will try to help you.

32 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank will surely ask for help if required and thankx for simplifying

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Raj, this was so very helpful! I have been wondering how to do this for days. I kept forgetting to look it up and figure it out, so you gave me just what I was looking for at a perfect time. Now I just have to figure out how to make my categories a little more useful to my readers. My blogs seem to be all over the place categorically! I’ve picked a few to start with, and I will refine them as I get more experience under my belt. Thanks, again.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Glad that helped you. Yes linking posts to a category is very important right from the begining. But its never late.. Good luck..

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yoly says:

    You are computer savvy…😉Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Yes, I do work in IT industry.. But this stuff is not that difficult one. It makes life easy. Thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you! ✌

      Liked by 1 person

  4. vickyymassen says:

    Thank you! This has helped me so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you for always willing to sharing your expertise and knowledge with your follwers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Amy for your kind words as always… Sharing is caring! 🙂 Cheers!

      Like

  6. Thank you again for another Fantabulous post! I tried making categories for my blog. It needs some fine tuning and tweeking though. Thank you too much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Michaela for your kind words… glad that helped you.. Good luck!

      Like

  7. Shayra says:

    Thanks for sharing.Its helpful for all bloggers😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Shayra…for your feedback! 🙂

      Like

      1. Shayra says:

        Most Welcome😊

        Liked by 1 person

  8. shalini says:

    How do i link posts to a category

    Like

    1. Raj says:

      You have to go to your post and edit, then you go to your post settings (right top) there you will find the option to link it to category. You can also create new categories from there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. shalini says:

        Raj, I have made a mistake previously. I want to remove all categories I have created. How do i do that

        Like

  9. Raj, this was so helpful!!! The step by step made it easier to follow, thank you so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thats very nice to hear… glad you liked it.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Finally i got the info here what i am searching and trying to do since last one week,
    again thank you so much…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks nice to know and makes me feel so good… considering the kind of posts you are doing I think it will look good on your blog. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Raj; I’m having problems adding the overarching category tab. What do you put in the URL box? I can’t get past that bit. BSD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Check my screen shot, I think you have to put # as you don’t have any url to actually put in.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There was a # in the box to start with; I’ll try again. Cheers for the response.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Nailed it! I’ll tidy it up later but it looks instantly better. You sir are a legend. BSD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you BSD glad that helped..❤

      Liked by 1 person

  13. birdlady612 says:

    I’m new to blogging and I don’t have my posts grouped by categories yet. My bf keeps saying I should do this but I’m not sure if I have enough posts yet to categorize them. Thanks for the great info. 🙋🐦

    Like

    1. Raj says:

      Start categorizing them now itself .. adding the category menu items can be done later too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

