Travel & Bird Photography –  Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary

Location & History: Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary – located in Mandya District of the state of Karnataka in India. Its located just about 3 kilometers away from the historic town of Srirangapatna and 16 kilometres from Mysore. Day trip from Mysore is very much recommend along with Srirangapatna. Ranganathittu was built in 1648 by the then Mysore King, Kanteerava Narasimharaja Wadiyar. Its recommended to visit the place early if you are interested in photography.

Photography: If your mission is to photograph then you must take the boat ride inside the sanctuary. You will be taken through the Kaveri River channels so that you can get y close access to the birds, there are different types of boat rides based on your taste of photography and time availability. I recommend you take your tele/zoom len if you have. Set the camera in shutter speed priority mode and set the shutter to atleast 1/1000 sec. I set the ISO to auto but restrict up to 1600 only(if your camera allows that). Please note I did not choose wide aperture as I was worried about loosing focus as I was shooting the flying birds plus I am in motion myself on the moving boat, so higher f values were opted, hoping to get overall sharp image. Tripod/Monopods may not be required as you are on the boat while shooting. Also set your camera to continuous /burst mode shooting. You must use auto-focus and if you have continuous focus (AI Servo) use them. Be prepared to take atleast 300 plus bird action shots, have extra camera SD card space handy. I also recommend extra battery.

Camera and Lens I used: Canon EOS 600D, Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG Macro (Please note the camera and the lens used is pretty average, but I am happy with the outcome)

IMG_4327
1/800 sec, f9 ISO 400, this is my favorite picture!
IMG_4264
1/1000 sec, f11 ISO 400
IMG_4465
1/1000 sec, f11 ISO 800
IMG_4489
1/1000 sec, f13 ISO 800, ready for the dive!
IMG_4351
1/1250 sec, f11 ISO 400, this is on of the shots where lens did very sharp focus.
IMG_4594
1/2000 sec, f14 ISO 800
IMG_4414
1/1000 sec, f11 ISO 800
IMG_4454
1/1600 sec, f14 ISO 800
IMG_4661
This is an interesting shot, what the birds direction, actually its flying to the left, what you see is the head dipped in water, you can also see the wake of water as its fishing deep…!

 

Below are the non-action shots take from the boat.

 

Please do let me know if you liked these pictures. If you have a questions or a suggestion, please do comment. I am eager to learn something from you too.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Orange says:

    Amazing photography!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Ms O… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amy says:

    Am in awe!! I have tried, so I know how challenging it is to capture bird in flight. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      It is challenging, but here the opportunities were many… so there is better probability of getting some good shots! 😀

      Like

  3. These pictures made me feel like I was actually there myself. Beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for your appreciation.. Have you been to Mysore?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure 🙂
        No I haven’t been there but when I do I will surely visit this place.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Mysore is a MUST visit place in India. Let me know, I will give you the list! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah it is I will surely contact you not only for Mysore but also for other places too 😉 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        Sure be my guest! 🙌🏻 BTW my guide charges are very less… 😋

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hahahaha…Guest and guide charges they don’t really go well together 😀 😛
        But Surely gonna take your guidance anyways 😀 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Raj says:

        Guest and charges don’t go together? Then why are hotel guests charged? 😀
        Just kidding ok? You are a valued customer… services are free for you! 👏 🙏 🤝

        Liked by 1 person

      7. 😀 😀 Thanks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Those are some incredible birds!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you very much for your appreciation… ! Yes lot of opportunities there for bird photography..:)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bushboy says:

    Great photos Raj. Thanks for the tips 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome buddy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

