New to blogging…? this might be interesting to you.

Well, I am a new blogger started on WordPress about 3 months back. At this point I feel that I have done well so far. I have been getting constant feedback, likes and the followings from people, the feeds I am seeing are relevant to me and I enjoy reading “most” of them.

Everyone starts the similar journey at some point. Lots of new bloggers come in daily as seen in “First Friday” section of  DailyPost. But what we don’t see is, the number of bloggers abandoning the blogging daily. So I was thinking about the later part, what makes people go away? Hence I thought of writing a little post here just to understand and help any newcomer if possible.

One big pitfall the new bloggers may fall into is, hungry about followers count! They just want to get more followers. For some reason follower count is very important to them. Probably thinking that more number means more famous. I have seen many people even saying, “I Followed you, please fallow me”, or “please check my blog”.. its become more like a give and a take. But I think totally a wrong approach if you want to be successful blogger..

That brings us back to a basic question ..”Who is a successful blogger?” What makes a blogger a successful one? According to me, its nothing to do with number of followers, its about keeping yourself occupied with your writings and posts. Its about having a inspiration to keep yourself going. Enjoy writing and reading the comments on your posts. Remember its not about just posting, its about reading too. Unless you read you will not be able to write. So to keep reading you have to get quality feed, to get the quality feed you should be following like minded bloggers with the similar tastes as yours! If that happens then you are a successful blogger.

On the other hand if chase those numbers, soon you will be bored, because you have followed someone whose posts are not interesting to you. There is no interactions happening with your with your blogs. Eventually lose of interest and finally you are no more interested in reading nor posting.

So I just wanted to write some pointers which might help new bloggers. I am trying to follow it and I think that makes sense to me. (If any of the below does not make sense please do let me know, I am a new blogger myself, pardon my ignorance)

Blog Appearance:

  • Layout: Choose a nice layout, we all need nice package before even we open and see the content. Make sure it fits the style of posts you are doing. Initially don’t go for micro managing stuff like changing the font sizes or background colors etc. Since these theme are designed by experts, proper thoughts on font, size color combinations already given and don’t disturb it. Choose the color theme provided by them.
  • Menus: If you are posting multiple category of items, make sure people can access these categories easily. Supposing your are writing poetry and also about travel, make sure both those categories available through separate menu(say “Poetry” and “Travel”). There might be a follower who just want to browse through your poetry section but not travel. These menus will help him. Also categorizing you posts very important as you add a new post.
  • Social Channels: WordPress allows you to add social icons on your blog and link them to your personal social channels. If you want exposure to your social channels make sure to link them. There may be situation where people do not want to follow your blog but want to fallow you on Instagram. If you don’t want to publicize your social channels delete those social widgets.
  • About page, I feel its very important to have about page, your about page should give a viewer the objective of your blog and something about you. Its like a author info of your book. We all read it before buying a book.
  • Contact Page: There are situations where people don’t want to ask you directly on the blog posts (because everyone can see those comments) but discretely want to contact you. So make sure you add this page. This is also a great way to keep your email address hidden.
  • Tags: Add appropriate tags to your posts, this will help people to search for stuff they are interested in. For eg you are interested in photographs, and add a tag saying DSLR, or Landscape or Beach etc (but add what is appropriate for your post, don’t misguide the people too)

Blog Posting:

  • Write what you want to showcase, don’t write because someone else is doing it. Writings have to come from heart. Unless it come from heart you will not enjoy it. No point taking one week to write a short poem, you are struggling to write a poem because its not your cup of tea. Instead write about something where you have skills for.
  • Try adding quality content than quality. Even if you cant post daily its fine, make sure the quality is maintained.
  • Add pictures whenever possible and I strongly recommend the “Featured Image” for each post even if your post is not about photography. Pictures attract people in to your post. But make sure picture resonate to your post. If you are using images from the internet give proper credit and make sure they are free.
  • Do not add too many pictures to your posts as pictures are data hungry and your followers may not like too many pictures, they take forever to load especially when used through mobile connections. Don’t post same kind of image in the same post. (eg. you standing infront of your favorite car, next photo your sister standing infront of the same car)
  • If you are running our of inspiration, go to “Daily Prompt” section of Daily Posts or take part in challenges etc. You will get connected with like minded people.

Interactions:

  • Follow people only if their post are interesting, do not follow just because they followed you or with the hope that they will also follow you. You will be disappointed with hundreds of unwanted feeds soon. When that happens unfollow them.
  • Although likes are generally accepted as you liked the post, but people just keep liking the posts one by one without even reading(you can do it from the blog reader), but I feel the comments are the best way to express the appreciation on posts. Everyone likes personalized comments. And also if your comment is useful then other followers of that post also might be interested in your blog.
  • Try not to post like “Nice Post” or “Great Shot”, try to be bit more descriptive in your comment.
  • Do not like the posts which you did not really like. Everyone needs a sincere feedback on the quality of their posts.
  • Don’t just be hungry for follower count. I have seen bloggers with 2000 followers but generating only 10 like per post!
  • Do not beg users to visit your blog, or link your blogs unless there is a need. If people want to check your blog they can always check it by clicking on your avatar.
  • Be very careful about online awards, I have seen many people here do not like it. Nominate people only if previously they have participated in award nominations.

At the end I feel quality posts rule. Try to create quality posts, that will generate the quality followers and hence the feeds.

Hope this write-up is helpful to someone to understand how I see it . I am not seasoned blogger. Please correct me if something is not right or you suggest something to be added. Do comment below. Don’t hesitate to share it or reblog it.

If you like this post, you might also like my other WordPress related posts and tips, please check here.

Cheers,

Raj

 

106 Comments Add yours

  1. Great tips.. You know a lot even you are not blogging from a long time. Quick learner ✌️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Pooja for the kind words.. Just whatever came to my mind wrote it up! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post!

    Haha….. all great. I would add just one, be yourself. : )

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      😀 Agreed.. that rule applies to all social networks.. may be more applicable on face book… 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great tips !! Thankx for sharing your experience with us

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Great tips !!!
    3 days left to complete 1 Month of blogging .I am happy 🙂
    Happy​ Blogging!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      That’s great! Keep going…. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Addie says:

    Great advice, and totally agree! This should be something you love doing not just chasing numbers!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Addie… for your feedback.. appreciate it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is great. Thank you for the tips! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome.. Just my thoughts.. 🙂

      Like

  7. Wowwww these Tips are just priceless! I was just reading a post about this “follow for follow” stuff! I like following a blog I will be able to contribute to and will be of interest to me. Your points are so clear.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for the feedback Stella, glad that made some sense.. fallow to fallow just to increase the counters! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. shalini says:

    Raj I like to read different things depending on mood… I like to read about things which I don’t do like cooking poetry travel quilting crochet short stories sometimes others’ long thoughts. I cant always write lengthy replies to all of them. I don’t have that many hours in my day… So I like many things, open that page give a fast look a fast read and comment when I can.. People whom I have spoken to quite a bit like you, I write big comments
    2 or 3 times I have been attacked because I have asked for explanation so I keep to likes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      I know we cant reply to each and everything, but when we see something really touching our heart, we should make an attempt.. yes time is limited .. regarding the reading part, true we need not follow our genre of blogs only. Even if we are not posting a particular kind of posts, still we can enjoy reading them.
      Yes unfortunately people these days do not want discussions, moment you ask for a reason people feel they are being questioned..thats why I am moving away from my facebook account these days!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. shalini says:

        Oh i still like my Facebook account but I have only 50 friends and I am going to delete people whom I don’t talk to

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Thats great.. but I unfortunately in a environment cant refuse the new friends!! 😀 But then we “friends” fight! 😀

        Like

      3. shalini says:

        Wow… I am very clear and I don’t want my real life friends in my friends only few people whom I have met virtually and have connected…

        Liked by 1 person

  9. vickyymassen says:

    Good tips! I’m a bit confused as to add my posts to the menus that I have created

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Checked your blog Vicky, your “Home” menu takes me to your blogs… I think that is the way it should be… are you taking about displaying the categories? Let me know

      Like

      1. vickyymassen says:

        Yeah I mean displaying categories

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        I will explain in detail in a post.. just wait..

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Raj says:

        Vicky… wrote a post for you… https://rkarkera.wordpress.com/2017/06/27/wordpress-how-to-create-categories-menu/
        Check and let me know.. 🙂

        Like

  10. Vinay says:

    Great! Just right to the point. I read it at the perfect time:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Vinay, I am glad that it made sense to you.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Yoly says:

    I agree with everything you’ve said Raj. We all have a purpose to do things but sometimes people lose focus as to why we started and get caught up with the “like” button. I’m writing because it’s my way to deal with my issues, it’s therapeutic and I enjoy it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Exactly… when you do that from your heart.. everything will fall in to places.. your writings looks natural and genuine… that attracts “right” people into you. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yoly says:

        Awwww thank you 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  12. What you’re saying seems pretty informative and accurate. I will especially use your advice on the part where you say not to just like things just because you want more people to like yourself. Genuineness really does hit the note for me and agree that if you really like something you should be sincere about it. The bit on following people that you like reading what they post is also another great tip. I really appreciate you input and look forward to more of your great posts! I read most of them as they come out. I am very new, so I’ve only been reading them for a few weeks or so. Still trying to get my head around this whole blog thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Michaela for your feedback

      Like

  13. mz&cho says:

    We totally agree with what you wrote about followers. This is not a means to justify our existence.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Exactly! 😀 Thank you for your feedback 🙂

      Like

  14. On some of my posts there were comments asking me how many followers do I have (instead of telling how the post was) and they were actual bloggers and not some spammers.
    Its always better to have few genuine readers with whom you can interact as well as your follower than a ton of strangers.
    Great advises and very nicely explained 👍👍 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Very true.. Its like building a online family..or close friends.. interactions everyday really helps to bring up the mood too… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 💯💯 Yup its really fun 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  15. weejars says:

    Some sound advice. Thanks!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for agreeing with my thoughts.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  16. ladyfletch says:

    Wow! Thanks for the tips, very helpful and I will definitely implement them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Glad that was useful to you…. Thank you for your feedback.. 🙂

      Like

  17. It is really very helpful……thank u so much…..😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Its my pleasure … Shubham… good luck!

      Like

  18. attiecalisto says:

    This is all great info. I think I’ll have to read it again in a few weeks. This blogging thing is huge and a little overwhelming at the moment. I’m currently trying to find blogs that I want to read/learn from. I hit the jackpot here! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Glad that you found it useful… Good luck .. 🙂 Thanks for the feedback.

      Like

    2. I might have to re-read this later as well. There’s a lot of information, maybe more than I could properly absorb in one go. I like the emphasis on keeping it genuine.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Raj says:

        Take your time… It’s not something you have to do it today.. I am new too, I wrote what I learnt in short period… genuineness is very important otherwise one could easily lose interest in posting in my opinion.. Always post because you like it.

        Liked by 1 person

  19. piamajumdar says:

    hey Raj , you once helped me in creating post, at top of my website , well i did as you said last time , but i did it in same way but its not happening , i want to put 4 posts as featured but cant do it , help me again Raj 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Hey Pia I think your are talking about the featured posts. Yes you have to add a tag “featured” to that post. I checked your blog I see 3 of the posts in featured. What is the problem?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. piamajumdar says:

        Hey Raj , yup i got it
        I actually missed a step
        All good now
        I followed your previous said steps
        Nailed it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        That’s great Pia… Cheers and have a great weekend! 🙂

        Like

      3. piamajumdar says:

        Have a joyous monsoon 😊☺️😃

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        Yes enjoying it now as we speak… 😀

        Like

  20. Nice article and really helpful for new bloggers on WordPress. BTW, Thank you, Raj! for commenting on First Friday on my very first blog. I wasn’t sure why my reply wasn’t posted a couple of days ago but thank you so much for the comment….and yes, for Sidney Sheldon, we have something in similar 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Its my pleasure Anupama… Glad this article made some sense… Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  21. ponderellathinkingoutloud says:

    Some more useful tips here Raj! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you and glad that you felt useful! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Hi Raj, This blog is very helpful, tips for new bloggers is really great and highly appreciated,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Glad that you liked it Riya, I am new too.. but just sharing what I learnt.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  23. swalia says:

    Helpful tips for newbies. I agree that leaving insightful comments are better than just liking the post. Comments show that you have taken the trouble of actually reading the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Swalia for agreeing with me.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂

      Like

  24. I do like your post. It’s easy to understand and it’s true. Followers counting and likes counting become a big problem in social media network. People become competitive and want to be famous, no. 1. This system resembles the education system in Asia countries.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Yes you are right.. persue the number one, we miss the real fun of blogging… Blog for your happiness… Not your followers!

      Liked by 1 person

  25. 😊 thank you so much for this post, so meaningful, I just hope that more people will realize this and will be able to post more quality posts. Cheers! ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Totally agree with you… when there is quality posts in your feeds.. you are bound to be regular and post quality stuff. Thank you for stopping by… cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I always wanted to write stuff on my blog but then my mood got over me. There’d be a day where I feel so inspired and then decided to write about it later in my blog but then my mood got over me, so I just posted it on Facebook, or Instagram and Twitter. My captions are very long, might as well turn FB into a blog because I think no one is reading my post here in WP, hence the diversion to another platforms… 😞

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Dont get disheartened ..it all will start slow.. try to post your blog on first Friday posts on daily post. Also try to use daily prompts to write that way you will get more people will see your posts. I recommend you reduce the length of posts a bit. Try writing different topics.. try to post pictures.. finally you will know what kind of posts you are good at it.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you so much for your recommendations! Ure a saintttt 😍😍😍😍 more people should be like you and for that, lemme give you a big love from my heart. ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️💋

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        😁 Saint… dont want to go there buddy! risky life … let me be human, the way I am designed.. 😁 Thanks for your kind words though.. Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Indeed. It’s just that, seeing lotta kind humans is a rare beauty these days, you know, and when you found one, you wanna cherish it very much. Hence I am right now

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Raj says:

        Thank you thank you thank you for being so kind! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. ♥️♥️♥️♥️ love always!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I just updated a new post, will you comment suggestions on that? I don’t know how and where to put the tags to enable the ‘Read more’ thingy

        Like

  26. Glad you took the time out to help out new bloggers like myself! Quite an informative and helpful post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you.. and glad that made sense to you.. Cheers!

      Like

  27. F says:

    Hi Raj, I just found your blog through the first friday page. I really love the way you provide comprehensive guidance to new people. I also like your pictures and the posts that go along with it. They resonate with my thinking. I also totally agree with the post above especially the parts about following for the sake of getting. Thanks for being a guidance to the newbies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks F for your kind words of appreciation and support. I am new blogger myself. Whatever I learnt want to share with the newcomers here. Important thing is if we have to be interested in blogging we need inspiration.. That will come only from quality posts from the people we follow.. thanks again and have a great weekend! 👍

      Like

  28. concealedrevealedblog says:

    This was extremely helpful for me! I have recently, within a few days time, just started blogging and I will be sure to utilize your suggestions. Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome.. and I am glad that lot of people finding this post useful… Thank you for stopping by… also check other posts related to WordPress in my blog.. Cheers and good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Thanks for the tips! I’m new to blogging and need as much help as i can!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Glad this posts make some sense to you.. also browse other wordpress related posts here.. Good luck with blogging.. enjoy ! Thank you.

      Like

  30. muminarushlondon says:

    Hi Raj,

    As a new blogger, your post has been super helpful! I’m not a very techy person and I feel like its going to take me a long time to really get the hang of it as there is so much to learn. Really good motivation! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you liked it. Do let me know if you have any questions. 👍😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. muminarushlondon says:

        Thank you, you are very kind

        Liked by 1 person

  31. This is very informative Raj, of course one should not go hunting for followers, but the number does help. If people do continuously keep subscribing to you, you must be doing something right, right? Plus there is nothing wrong with inviting other people to check out your blog either, as long as you feel that the topics you write on will be liked by them (based on what they’ve written on their blog) but still as you so rightly pointed out, blatant self promotion and spamming is not okay, relevance is key.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you very much for agreeing with me.. yes number do help and gives you confidence.. I give more value for the numbers they get on the posts than the follower count… !! Yes posting the links to their blogs is fine as long as there is a reason for that.. if someone wants to advertise they should use the medium such as “Community Pool” etc.. btw thank you for checking in my blog.. really appreciate it and your comment.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  32. Thanks for the advice! I started out with writing posts just to advertise like any other fashion blogger but later on I found it to be so… empty, so I’ve started using pictures of outfits I put together but writing more personal blog posts. I think this sums it together well because the numbers don’t mean anything if they’re empty as well

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you very much and I should say that you have a beautiful blog there! Keep up..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for all your feedback!

        Liked by 1 person

  33. Myra (Artist. Author. Lover) says:

    cool tips and makes sense. I’m done with all this likes stuff. I ‘m posting what I want and telling my story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Myra for agreeing with me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  34. Raj says:

    True Myra, that’s what actually required and that will keep you going! Cheers!

    Like

  35. This is super helpful! Thanks for the tips.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that was helpful! Cheers to you! 🌷

      Like

  36. I agree with what you say. I am a new blogger that started yesterday and honestly I’m already hungry for the followers, that was a that was in my mind when I started. But then, I have a question, how do other people get to notice my blog if I don’t comment things like ‘ hey check out my blog and all that because I don’t think it’s possible. I really need your reply on this. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      First of all welcome to the wonderful world of blogging.. 👍 first step is to identify what’s your blog’s theme? Suppose you are a poet so generally you would start fallowing interesting poets. Then you would content on their posts… Meanwhile you start writing your poems. Generally when you comment on five blogs, chances are some three will check your blog without the explicit invite. Then it’s all based on the quality of your writing. Also take part in daily prompts, and weekly challenges etc. That will expose your blog. Watch what is appreciated and what’s not getting the interest. Make necessary changes to your writing.. Most importantly have patience.. blogging is not like FB or Instagram… Where people exchange fallowing 😆 hope I answered your questions.. ✌ good luck and have fun!

      Like

      1. Thank you, you totally did, but I also want to know what terms like ‘blog party’ ‘daily promts’ and all that mean. I don’t know what they mean.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        I will share the link in a while from my laptop.. it’s the best way to start on my opinion.

        Like

      3. Okay…thank you very much.. I’ll be waiting

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/
        This link shows the daily prompts being posted..use them to write your stuff.. how to write… ? Here is one I wrote some times back .. https://rkarkera.wordpress.com/2017/08/06/never-a-casual/
        Hope this helps..

        Like

  37. tinasharma19 says:

    Very nice,totally agree with you..
    Though i am new to blogging world but i was also thinking to follow this path.. Just fulfill your passion of writing and reading and enjoy the place.. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Tina for agreeing with my thoughts.. I am new too, just started this April. Its more about just enjoying what you do.. nothing else. Cheers to you and enjoy!

      Like

  38. N says:

    Helpful post! I am going to take a few of these tips home.

    Like

  39. Very Nice tips Raj, with my own experience I can tell you it is tough to be blogging on a regular basis. I will try to apply some of your tips to improve my blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You’re welcome Wilson. Yes its not easy to maintain the pace. But you cant keep away too… 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

