Travel: Mysore Palace

The “City of Palaces” Mysore was established as Capital of Wadiyar Dynasty at 1799 after the death of Tippu Sulthan. Wodeyars the ruled Karnataka region from 1399 to 1950. The palace construction started in 1897 and completed in 1912. Mysore Palace considered to be one of the top destinations in India with more than 6 million annual visitors.

IMG_4661IMG_3712IMG_3726IMG_3661IMG_3684IMG_4667IMG_4668IMG_5416IMG_5449

Palace boasts Indo-Saracenic (Hindu, Muslim, Rajput, and Gothic styles) architectural style. Three-story building with marble domes contributing to five-story structure surrounded by a large garden and temple in the palace complex.

The palace has three entrances: the East Gate (the front gate, opened only during the Dasara and for VVIPs), the South Entrance (for public), and the West Entrance (usually opened only during the Dasara).

Tourist Info:

  • No camera or any gadget allowed inside the palace (unfortunately, but security is the major concern we don’t want to lose this great marvel for sure). Outside the palace you are allowed to take your camera.
  • Do not miss the lighting of the palace at nights between 7 PM to 7:45 PM (except on Sundays and Holidays), please check before and make sure you will witness this. Its spectacular, you will not be allowed inside the palace during this time period but its a great opportunity to see the palace in full glory.
  • Entry into the palace is from 11 AM to 3 PM, during peak season there will be long queues but queues managed well. There are lockers to keep your valuables and gadgets before you enter including the your footwear!
  • Once you finish the palace tour, there is a little museum behind the palace, if you are into history you should visit this place (its just attached to the palace)
  • Best time to visit during Dasara Festivals, one of the important festival celebrated in the palace right from Wadiyar time!
  • If you have problem walking then probably you should not go inside he palace as three is lot to walk and you need to take stairs too.

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks so majestic with all the lightning 😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Yes it is… and its there everyday! 🙂 Thank you..

      Like

  2. I wish they had allowed the camera inside. The night pictures with the lighting are breathtaking. Good job done. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thank you Pooja.. yes I agree with you … but terrorism has destroyed our peaceful life!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes you are right. And that’s why so many restrictions . I wish to see this world in 100% peace.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        I don’t think peace will come that easily as long long as people are ready to blow themselves up… in a crowded market! So travel as early as possible and see all the places… 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh yes. You are quite lucky to already travelled a lot 😊✌️

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        Thank you 🙂

        Like

  3. Beautiful description and images!! I really wish to go Mysore one day!!

    Like

  4. hati03nisa says:

    Omg, I am in love❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈 this place is so beautiful, I was thinking abt the London parliament how its light mesmerized me when I saw first time, but this is hundret times more beautiful and sparkles magic

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      I agree with you.. just standing infront of it is totally a breath taking experience… Visit once… you will fall in love with this place!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hati03nisa says:

        I will do researches if I can manage visit, my trip to India is in October and let’s see 😊tysm for sharing

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        Remember I suggested somewhere about Mysore Dasara….? it will end 30 September this year…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. hati03nisa says:

        I didn’t mean dasara, but the place itself

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy says:

    Magnificent! Like the night light captures especially

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      Thanks Amy for the appreciation.. 🙂

      Like

  6. shalini says:

    Heyyyy I recognise one of the fotos… Been to that palace decades ago

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      How can one … not recognize these pictures? 😝

      Liked by 1 person

      1. shalini says:

        Me… Easily… As never been anywhere outside mumbai in 2 decades. But I had to come to bangalore in 1990 for cousin’s marriage… Went to mysore n brindavan clicked a lot of pics… Went to shop to develop them… Was told no film… Bashed up my other cousins… My attempt at photography

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Raj says:

        👊 Two decades not gone out! OMG … Such people exist? 🤔💭

        Liked by 1 person

      3. shalini says:

        Oh yes raj.. Sometimes life happens and things happen.. That’s i live vacariously via photos and blogs of people who do

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Raj says:

        True.. we have to accept the fact and do the best of what we have…. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. shalini says:

        Exactly raj.. I believe that the universe has given cards to play with.. What I do with it and how I play it comes with experience but ultimately I have to play only with those cards…. Can’t cheat and steal my neighbor’s cards. I can peak occasionally but it harms me more than them…. Am I making sense?? Happiness is what I can get from my connection to people with me around me. Places are secondary.. As I said one day on fb you are going to see my airport posts and loving couple posts.. One day.. Till then I live via all the travel blogs

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Raj says:

        Makes real sense and agree with you.. Only we can play with out cards… then it comes to how well we use these cards..? Happiness is within you.. that’s why we see some very happy poor and sad rich people too.. do what makes you happy.. should be the slogan! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Aayushi says:

    The palace is absolutely beautiful. Thanks to your post, i’ll be adding Mysore to my travel bucket list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raj says:

      You have not visited Mysore? then definitely its a MUST see place in India. There are other places to see in Mysore too. I will make a another post to showcase all.. Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

